drive-thrus are for lazy people.

Living my healthiest and most holistic life, without a drive-thru !

a dash of this, a dash of that

Leave a comment

At last, there is internet at my new home in Toronto !

I had a crazy couple of week trying to move/settle in here and then going right back home for Oktoberfest and Thanksgiving. I finally feel like I’m here to stay now though (at least for a few weeks)

So now, once again – I’ll be back at the blog trying to make it better and more exciting than before.

Quick Recap of my Life.

Saturday, October 6th. Event: The Bad-Ass Dash

part of my wonderful team !
my race number !

It was such a fun race to do. We were in the “rec” division so everyone was truly just taking it easy. Our team had someone who finished in 5th place, and some of us finished in 300th and 400th – but we definitely had the most fun !

If it comes back next year, you might find me there again but only if I don’t have to swim through that freezing cold swimming pool again!

Besides racing this past weekend, I also had some fun with food.

I was inspired by my cousins girlfriend Sarah who came to our family thanksgiving with this festive cheese ball…

sarahs pumpkin -shaped cheese ball !

I liked the idea SO much that I made one of my own for the following night! It didn’t turn out quite as pretty – but I added some long chives for “effect”. Take a look….

my version !

Since it’s still Oktober, woops : OCTOBER, here is the recipe should you want to make it.

  • 1 package (8 ounces) cream cheese, softened
  • 1 carton (8 ounces) spreadable chive and onion cream cheese
  • 2 cups (8 ounces) shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • 2 teaspoons paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 celery rib or broccoli stalk
  • Sliced apples and assorted crackers

BUT – I was missing some of these ingredients so I just made a few modifications when I made mine.

Should you want to trust my version, here it is…

1/2 cup cream cheese

1/2 cup ricotta cheese

3/4 shredded cheddar and marble cheeses (can be whatever types you like best)

1 tsp. smoked paprika (to give it a more ‘meaty’ flavour)

1 tsp. cayenne pepper

chives for the pumpkin lines, and a pepper top for the stem of the pumpkin.

Simple !

I’ll be back with more and more as the weeks go on, and as I start to experience Toronto – stay tuned !

Leave a Reply

