drive-thrus are for lazy people.

Living my healthiest and most holistic life, without a drive-thru !

back at it.

Leave a comment

At last, I am back in the blogging world!

My blog was on hold for the past two months while I was away working at a Summer Camp in Switzerland. While away, I was definitely able to brainstorm tons of new ideas for future posts so make sure you stick with me over the next while! I hope to get more and more people eventually reading my blog so feel free to pass on the link to anyone who might be interested. I promise to post semi-regularly now that I’m back to a regular, routine somewhat scheduled lifestyle.

More reasons for me to be excited include the fact that I have started school at The Canadian School of Natural Nutrition. The school is in downtown Toronto and the program itself is a full 12 months. This means that I’ll be making the move to the big city on October first, which I am beyond excited for! The diploma that I will receive at the end of the program while allow me to practice under the title of “Registered Holistic Nutritionist (R.H.N)“. This is different from being a Registered Dietician. The focus of my program is whole body nutrition, treating people as individual cases, and preventing disease through proper nutrition that is as close to nature as possible.

Now that I am studying natural nutrition, you can guess that my blog will most likely focus on what I am currently learning in school. I hope that it interests you, as it does me. I’ll definitely need test subjects at some point, and I’ll be using my blog as an added study tool (it’s already helping me remember things I learned last week). ENJOY and feel free to leave comments or even questions!

The main criteria for “good nutrition” as an R.H.N include foods that are NATURAL, ALIVE, and GOOD QUALITY. If you can classify the foods that you’re eating into one of these three categories, than you are probably eating something healthy. This means that many of the things in your kitchen cupboard (ex. Processed and Imported Foods, Genetically Modified Foods, etc.) are not likely to be the healthiest food choices. Instead, your kitchen should be full of natural foods grown locally, foods grown without pesticides and WHOLE foods (which seems to be a common buzzword these days). Even though each and every one of us chooses to eat differently, we should always make sure that our diets are balanced with a mix of carbs, proteins, vitamins, minerals, water and other supplementation. This is just an overview that I will be digging deeper into through each of my blog posts.

Instead of writing the long version, let me just cut some of the info down to a few important things that I’ve learned lately.

  1. We all probably need to be drinking MORE water. It’s so important for our blood and our digestion. Being hydrated is not good, obviously. You should be drinking water throughout the day, hopefully BEFORE you feel thirsty because by the time you feel thirst, you’re already dehydrated.
  2. Chew your food more. Digestion starts in your mouth, and the more you chew – the more nutrients you will get from your food.
  3. Don’t be afraid of the word ‘carbohydrate’. It seems that there’s been a complete craze of people who say “I don’t eat carbs” or things of the like. The problem is, that carbohydrates include fruits, vegetables, legumes and grains. What people USUALLY mean when they say they don’t eat carbs, is that they cut back on wheat. Carbohydrates are an essential part of your daily diet, and should make up about 60% of the food that you eat on a daily basis.

Leave a Reply

