drive-thrus are for lazy people.

Living my healthiest and most holistic life, without a drive-thru !

clean 15 + dirty dozen

Leave a comment

It’s true, the majority of the fruits and veggies that we eat are contaminated with pesticides.

These nasty chemicals are not something that we want to be putting into our bodies, but you likely do so on a daily basis with your regular intake of grocery store food. No, this is not your excuse to stop eating your daily servings of the good stuff – although I know some people would like that. Of course, the benefits of eating a diet rich in fruits and veg outweigh the potentially harmful effects of contaminated produce, but we should all be more aware of the so-called DIRTY DOZEN and the CLEAN 15!

Never heard of these published lists before? Neither had I until a few months ago. It was only yesterday that I was reminded to continually check these lists on a monthly basis, because they are updated whenever things change! The Dirty Dozen list just outlines which foods are best avoided if you’re not going to purchase them organically grown, due to the fact that they are likely to be contaminated.

The Huffington Post has a quick video that you can watch about it here.

Let’s take a closer look at the “dirty dozen”…

(All photos taken from Huffington Post)

(I realize that I might be annoying people with these constant posts about the “real calories of Starbucks food” and the true dangers of contaminated veggies… but truly I’m just relaying the info that I find interesting – so take it with a grain of salt and don’t let all of this information stop you from living your life… cause it sure doesn’t stop me from living mine!)

  1. Apples
    • Well, this is depressing since apples are truly my favourite fruit. The lesson here, buy organic apples because 98% are found to be contaminated with some sort of pesticide.
  2. Celery
    • No big loss here, since I don’t loooove celery. It came in at 96% found to be contaminated. This is gross, I wish I didn’t know that I’ve been putting these contaminants into my body for most of my life…
  3. Bell Pepper
    • Yellow, green, red… They’re all infected !
  4. Peaches
    • Seems logical – who knows what’s hiding in the furry skin!
  5. Strawberry
    • Some 13+ pesticide types found in a batch of non-organic strawberries.
  6. Grapes
    • So many pesticides used on them. The most of all of the Dirty Dozen. Another point to consider, when you buy seedless grapes they are GMO – not the best fruit to be eating non-organically.
  7. Spinach
    • Wash well…
  8. Lettuce
    • Wash well, once again.
  9. Blueberry
    • Lovely blueberries – well, they’re so expensive off-season so this will save your wallet!
  10. Potato
    • No surprise – they come with dirt still in the bag most of the time!
  11. Leafy Greens (ex. Kale)
    • Has high loads of a toxic compound that can cause neurological damage.

The “Clean 15” are mostly what I thought they would be. Many of them have an outer skin on them that you don’t eat, so you can get away with buying non-organic types of the following (in my opinion anyways – since organic = $$$$ most often)

  1. Mushrooms
  2. Watermelon
  3. Grapefruit
  4. Sweet Potato
  5. Cantaloupe
  6. Kiwi
  7. Eggplant
  8. Mango
  9. Asparagus
  10. Sweet Peas
  11. Cabbage
  12. Avocado
  13. Pineapple
  14. Corn
  15. Onions

Now, consider what I bought earlier today at a produce store in the Kensington Market…

assortment of fruits and veg.

It just so happens I didn’t buy any of the Clean 15, although I do have some of them in my fridge…

Of the Dirty Dozen, I purchased apples, strawberries and leafy greens. I guess I’ll have to wash them carefully!

One way to safely remove pesticides on fruit and vegetables is to mix up some drops of grapefruit seed extract (from a local health store), vinegar, and baking soda with water. Put it in a spray bottle and spray on contaminated fruits and veg. Let it sit for 5 minutes and then rinse well! The grapefruit seed extract is proven to zap pesticides.

You better believe next time I pass a health foods store, I’m going to buy some grapefruit seed extract. I’m convinced now !

Happy Tuesday! Leave me a comment if you read this… Perhaps a response to this question!

How do you wash your fruits and veggies, if at all?

Do you enjoy more of the foods on the Dirty Dozen, or Clean 15 list?

Leave a Reply

