drive-thrus are for lazy people.

Living my healthiest and most holistic life, without a drive-thru !

eggplanty

Leave a comment

Okay, at last I’m able to squeeze in my next blog post.

Moving to Toronto has been amazing – but BUSY! Big city life means that there’s always something to do, and between school and two jobs I haven’t managed to find a lot of spare time!

So first things first, I taught my first spin class at Krudar Muay Thai Fighting this morning. It made me realize how much I missed teaching spin – It is truly one of my favourite things to do EVER so it’s so great to be back into it. It’s also kinda fun to see my name on the schedule – notice the EARLY MORNINGS that I’m going to be having for the rest of the year! Teaching spin in the Kensington Market for 7am = me waking up at 5:45am… yikes!

My playlist varied slightly since I changed my routine to a “Hills and Kills” format. It was structured so that it was one hill climb, followed by two kills of some sort (ex. sprints and lift, or something of the like!) I cannot take credit for the catchy name though – I stole it from another teacher.

Following my spin I stopped to pick up some fresh vegetables and fruits. The market has lots to offer so I parked my bike and wandered a bit. It’s weird because I find myself ALWAYS buying the same fruit and vegetables over and over, even though I like almost everything. I just tend to stay within my “food comfort zone” if that exists. So here’s a challenge for the rest of October…

Buy one new fruit or vegetable every time I go shopping.

Beyond that, I will buy whatever I want. At least one thing must be “new” though – something that I have either never tried or haven’t had in a year or so.

eggplant, sweet potato, avocado, tomato, lemon & lime

Which one is my “new” find?

EGGPLANT!

I have had it many times before, but the last time I remember eating eggplant is well over a year ago. I tend to bake it in the oven with a bit of olive oil and salt/pepper… but I need to get more creative so I will follow up with what ends up happening to this massive purple lump.

Lucky for my, my fun new vegetable has health benefits also! (Adapted from www.livingstrong.com)

  1. Eggplant is LOW in calories, just 35 calories per cup
  2. Eggplant is high in fiber, which helps with digestion and elimination of… waste… !
  3. Eggplants are high in antioxidants (What exactly is an antioxidant you ask? They act as a layer of defense to your cells and therefore prevent damage – they have the ability to shuffle energy and keep it flowing so that cells remain healthy)

Stay tuned for my eggplant concoction, and the next unusual fruit or vegetable!

As for the rest of the day now that I’m up…

lots of this stuff

Coffee, coffee, coffee… My study fuel for today.

Leave me some comments… so I know who’s reading!

If you’re feeling uninspired, respond to one of these questions…

Do you tend to eat the same fruits and vegetables over and over like me? Which ones?

Anyone care to share an eggplant recipe?

Do you ever make it to 7am workout classes at the gym, or is it just too early?

Leave a Reply

