drive-thrus are for lazy people.

Living my healthiest and most holistic life, without a drive-thru !

healthy feast

Leave a comment

After a long day of class and studying, I went  back to school for a talk on “Whole Foods Prep”

To my surprise, there was some sampling involved in this 3 hour seminar – so needless to say, my mood quickly improved!

Clockwise from the top; Banana Manna Sprouted Bread, Berry Grain Quinoa Salad, Nud Dehydrated Crackers, Raw Organic Cacoa Nibs, Chia Seed Pudding, and a Spiced Sweet Potato Oatmeal Cookie.

Though much of the information that the speaker talked about, I already knew – it’s still nice to hear it re-enforced again.

Reminding myself that at least 80% of my diet should come from foods in their natural state (such as grains, veggies, fruits, nuts, seeds and meat/dairy if you choose to consume that) is an everyday battle, and certainly a slow but beneficial ongoing transition. It’s the little things, like learning to read the ingredients of EVERY package you buy and making conscious efforts to eliminate processed and potential harmful foods from your kitchen, that will make the BIG and LONG TERM changes to your life.

My teacher said a quote that I found stuck with me; “Every dollar that you spend on groceries is a vote”... So choose wisely where you put your money,. Whether it be to the local farmer who runs a small, seasonal and organic operation around the corner from you – or whether it be to keep McDonalds in business with a daily Happy Meal – it’s a vote each time you do!

I couldn’t resist , sorry !

Anyways, the quinoa salad that I sampled was absolutely amazing so I thought that I would post the recipe in case anyone is looking for a new quinoa dish! I am certainly going to make this in the near future!

Berry Grain Quinoa Salad

Ingredients

  • 3 cups Quinoa (cooked) OR rice, millet, etc.
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries or cherries
  • 1 cup chopped celery
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds (roasted or raw)
  • 1/4 cup chopped scallion
  • 1/4 cup chopped parsley or cilantro
  • Dressing: Mix up Olive Oil, Flax Oil, Honey, Lemon Juice, Cinnamon, Cumin, Nutmeg

Super easy, and a pretty awesome meal that you can cook up and take for leftover lunches!

One of the other snacks that I munched on was this Sprouted Manna Bread.

It was delicious! I had never even heard of it.

It’s much more dense and a bit more ‘wet‘ than your average bread – but you would also eat much less of it!

The ingredients in it really surprised me too….

Sprouted organic wheat kernels, filtered water, organic dried banana, organic walnuts, organic flax seeds, organic hemp seeds.

I kept thinking, “that’s it?” – I will buy this bread again in a second, it was amazing – next time you see it in stores GRAB IT pick up a loaf and let me know what you think!

_____________________________________________________________

The crackers that you see in the first photo are Nud Fud… (nude food) !

They are raw, organic, gluten-free and were again, SO GOOD. (There is hardly any food that I try that I don’t like, my taste buds are easy to please!)

We tried a couple of different kinds, and they are such a healthy alternative to your average store-bought crackers.

The green energy ones were amazing, and perfect for dipping.

The ingredients are; banana, sesame seeds, coconut, spirulina – Again, I thought to myself “where are the other ingredients” because clearly I’ve been brainwashed into thinking all foods needs 500 things on the ingredient list!

Here’s what their website had to say about them…

“With only four organics ingredients, green energy takes sesame snaps to a whole new level! Green energy is sugar-free (fruit-sweetened) and packed with the superfood spirulina. This snack is alkalizing, high in Vitamin A, protein, fiber, and healthy fats.

Eat right out of bag for a crunchy snack at home, school, office, gym, or on the road. Crumble atop yogurt, cereal, salad, or top with nut butter!”

The only thing that would keep me from buying these crackers on my own is the price, they are a litttttle bit much at 8.00$ per pouch!

Leave a Reply

