drive-thrus are for lazy people.

Living my healthiest and most holistic life, without a drive-thru !

pic monkey.

Leave a comment

Oops, seems like it’s been quite a few days since my last post ! I swear time flies, or just passes really quickly… especially in the month of December.

Life Update

My weekend kept me busy with lots of visitors, meeting up with friends I haven’t seen in a while, working, studying for my exam Monday, and celebrating Alexa’s birthday!

(Some pics of her birthday outing…)

Sunday was spent working in the morning, and studying at night. And maybe a few snacks from the Starbucks Santa

Deadly, huh?

Luckily, we got rid of most of it by having some friends over to help us eat! Okay, some of it ended up in the garbage too… but not much! Yikessss.

Workouts Update.

I’m trying to squeeze in as many workouts as possible before the holiday season, since I don’t think I’ll be doing THAT much activity from December 21 – Jan.2nd. Nor do I really want to spend my holidays worrying about workouts. That’s why I created my “Get super fit before the holiday’s” spin class, with the goal of working extra hard for the next couple of weeks, and then taking time to relax and indulge on your break.

Sometimes it’s good to have an extended break or time off from repetitive, tiresome workouts. It might be necessary in order for you to remember how much you DO actually enjoy hitting up a yoga class or taking off on a run. In the mean time, I’m happy to step up my workouts in anticipation of a lazier couple of weeks over the holiday.

I find it very beneficial to always keep my workouts VISIBLE, so for the past 6 years I’ve tried to keep a workout diary in the form of a calendar on my wall each month. By putting it in front of my face each day, I can feel motivated and proud of what I’ve accomplished. If I see a few days where I didn’t find time to squeeze in a workout, then I’m more motivated to FIND THE TIME to workout the next day. Even if it’s just a 2km power walk, I STILL write it down, because that’s still worthwhile!

This calendar will be especially motivating over the holidays when I see multiple days of doing nothing more than eating Christmas cookies straight up relaxing.

Food Update

Last night I made a raw veggie salad. It was literally just every vegetable in my fridge that needed to be used up, as well as a dressing and some spices on top.


Things that I threw in included; avocado, cucumber, tomato, onion, garlic, beet leaves, sauerkraut (food form of a probiotic!), green pepper.

I topped all of this with some Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Balsamic, Cumin, Tumeric, Garlic and Himalayan Pink Sea Salt (new purchase for me).

It wasn’t that great, but I ate it anyways and have lots of it left over. Nonetheless, it was a healthy dinner but lacked the protein I was craving.

So, this morning I decided to pair it with eggs! Now it’s a complete meal!

I added some kale (leafy green, good source of calcium!) and cilantro (detoxifying herb!)  in the mix also! Oh yeah, and more cumin – I can’t get enough of this spice.

Don’t forget my side of lemon water which I drank prior to my meal (not with, if you want optimal digestion). Again, it’s a great way to gently stimulate your liver for an early morning detox. I highly recommend everyone do this each morning. Just think, everything that you ate yesterday and all of the toxins from processed/non-organic food/chlorinated water etc – flush it out before you do it all again today.

I found this new website called Pic Monkey where I made all of these collages – I had a bit too much fun, if you can’t tell. Post spin I usually feel a bit excited!

Back with more later!

Kelsey

Leave a Reply

