drive-thrus are for lazy people.

Living my healthiest and most holistic life, without a drive-thru !

practice makes perfect.

Leave a comment

Throughout the course of my program, I believe that I’ll be making lots of new changes to not only my diet, but lifestyle choices as well.

I truly believe that I’ve been living a somewhat healthy life for the past few years, but as I learn more and more about my body and what it needs to be whole and healthy, I know I still have many changes to make that lie ahead.

The thing is… although I am taking in all of this knowledge of what it takes to become more holistic – many of these changes don’t happen overnight, and they certainly don’t all happen simultaneously.

Some of the changes that I know I need to make in my diet throughout the next year are…

  • Eat more raw and organic fruits and vegetables. When we cook our veggies, we are killing a lot of the nutrients and enzymes in them leading to less nourishment of our body. Also, if the fruit and veg that you’re eating is not organic (yes, I’m severely guilty of this) – then chances are that it is GMO. These GMO foods can barely be considered “whole” since they are not in their original and natural state. They’ve been mutated and are certainly not what our great-grandparents were eating back in the 1800’s
  • Drink less caffeine, and more water + herbal teas. I have about two medium sized mugs of coffee each day, and I know that ideally that should be cut back to zero. Caffeine really serves no good in my body and it’s hard on my digestive system, so it’s something to be mindful of. With respect to water, I have lots as is but you can never have too much! Water is a natural cleanser so the more the better (if only I could afford a purifying system for my apartment…)

    (A couple peaks at my love for coffee: the one on the left was this weekend at the Whole Life Expo which I’ll be blogging about later this week)
  • Cut out processed and refined grains. Promise myself to avoid white sugar and white flour on ALL occasions. There is no reason to eat processed foods ever, and I try not to as is – but I certainly have my vices.
  • Drink less beer and wine – enough said. Alcohol is horribly damaging to your liver – so if you can try and cut back, do it!

I have about 100 more diet changes that I’d like to implement, but I’ll stop there…

Lifestyle changes also come into play here…

  • Switch to more natural beauty care products. Half of the products that I have in my bathroom are made up of hundreds of chemicals – this is horrible and I wish that I was aware of this earlier in my life!
  • Turn my cell phone to airplane mode before bed because of radiation (which has been shown to cause men to become infertile: think, they always carry their cellphones in their pockets…)
  • Avoid news and newspapers when they are simply depressing and dark – and instead focus this time on doing something for yourself (trying meditation for the first time perhaps?)
  • Focus my energies on one thing at a time – living in the moment and paying close attention to my surroundings…  This last bit about paying close attention to your surroundings, comes from one of my co-workers at Krudar. While I choose to bike to work each morning (otherwise it would be a 40 minute walk), he chooses to walk the same distance to arrive at 6:30 a.m. each morning. The logic hereif you’re biking or driving, you’re moving so fast and likely not engaging and soaking up your surroundings. Point made, and I agree (but I’m too fast paced to convert). I am totally an advocate of this though – it’s such a fabulous way to live your life!

This has been a rather dull post picture wise, so thanks for keeping up !

What diet and lifestyle changes do you want to make?

Do you think that cell phone radiation is of concern?

Leave a Reply

