drive-thrus are for lazy people.

Living my healthiest and most holistic life, without a drive-thru !

sour milk.

Leave a comment

I spent almost 2 hours cooking one big meal yesterday.

My conclusions – HEALTHY cooking takes a LONG TIME when you do it all with whole foods, but the pay-off is totally worth it!

Yes, It did take time forever to wash all of my produce with my newly bought grapefruit seed extract (I’m going to try my best to wash all of my produce from now on in this mixture of the extract, baking soda, and warm water… just let it soak for 10-15 minutes in a big bowl and rinse).

Then, it took almost 30 minutes to cook my beets which came in their natural form (I know, you can actually buy them outside of a jar) … Check it out…

Let me jump ahead by saying first that they were SO good once they were finished being prepared. I have a new favourite vegetable.

To get them into their edible form… I scrubbed them, and then picked off the stems and leaves (which I saved to eat in a salad at some point).

Then, put them in a pot with lots of water and bring them to a boil. Reduce the heat to medium and let them cook for about 25 minutes or until you can easily stab (sounds like I’m trying to kill my food…) poke them with a fork.

Take the beets off of the stove, and as you rinse them under cold water – the skin will just magically fall off! At this point, they are nice and warm, easy to cut through and ready to eat. Yummy !

So what did I make with all of this stuff?

It was a recipe from a speaker that I saw at the Toronto Whole Life Expo. Here name is Caroline Dupont and she is a graduate of my program. She just radiates the lifestyle that surrounds holistic nutrition, so I was a bit inspired to cook better meals after watching her speak.

She mentioned something in her talk about a recipe in her cookbook called the “Heaven on Earth Bowl”. It is based on including only food that nature provides, which is the best way to eat in an ideal world… Nature definitely doesn’t supply us with Twix Bars or White Sugar – so why make it a staple in your diet?

The foods that you SHOULD be including as the main ingredients of all of your meals include; fruits, vegetables, whole grains, legumes, nuts, seeds, dairy and eggs, fish, fowl, meats. All being organic, for hormone filled and pesticide laced products (again – in a perfect world, of course).

Anyways, I couldn’t remember the exact recipe that made up the Heaven on Earth Bowl, so I threw together what I thought worked well.

Heaven on Earth Bowl Recipe

rainbow coloured, fresh veg, hearty and filling !

Ingredients

(the ones I can remember anyways…)

  • Quinoa
  • Tofu + Tempeh (both soy products – like meat substitutes)
  • Kale
  • Beets
  • Avocado
  • Green Onion
  • White Onion
  • Garlic
  • Ginger
  • Zucchini
  • Red Pepper
  • Spices; Tumeric, Cumin, Paprika, Garlic Powder, Rosemary
  • Cashew Butter
  • Olive Oil
  • Balsamic Vinegar
  • Salt and Pepper

That’s a lot! You can literally use anything in your fridge though.

Directions

  1. Wash and chop all vegetables, preparing them in small pieces.
  2. Cook desired amount of Quinoa (red, white or black – whichever you prefer… Bulk Barn has a good and cheap mix)
  3. Steam vegetables and tofu/tempeh over top of the quinoa pot if you have the right equipment – leave out the avocado and green onion and cilantro
  4. Stir quinoa and season the steaming vegetables and tofu with spices
  5. When it’s all cooked up, add the vegetable/tofu mix into the cooked quinoa
  6. Stir in olive oil, balsamic, nut butter, more spices, salt and pepper, cilantro, green onion and avocado
  7. Put the lid on and let it all soak together for 30 minutes, then eat!

Sure, not all of the vegetables are organic and/or local – but I tried my best!

The Purple Kale that you see is actually from Ontario. Funny how it seems to surprise me when I find Ontario produce in a grocery store, that’s pretty sad (I probably just don’t look hard enough…) Here’s a list of what’s available when in ONTARIO.

There’s something about eating local and seasonal though that just makes you feel that much better… With the change in seasons right now we are heading into more root vegetables and dark leafy greens. Think squashes, turnips, beets, kale, potatoes, etc.

Moving on – my day started a bit sour when I found out that I just bought expired milk on my way home from teaching spin at Krudar.

expired milk – turned ME sour (see the expiry date; NOV 14.. that was yesterday!!!!!)

Should I go back to the store and return it? Seems like a hassle since I don’t live close to there… Hmmm…

I also bought some Bulgur which is a a great substitute for rice and couscous. It’s typically used in some Taboulleh Salads which is what I want to make with it – but you can use it in any sort of meal. Pulled from another website… “Bulgur is a Middle Eastern grain high in fiber and protein, and low in fat and calories.”

I’ll leave you with a song that I just added to my spin playlist because of a participant request… I’m really liking it right now.

Would you return milk if you realized it was expired once you were already home?

Have you ever heard of Bulgur?

Leave a Reply

