drive-thrus are for lazy people.

Living my healthiest and most holistic life, without a drive-thru !

weekend wrap up

Leave a comment

Monday, we meet again.

For me, Monday is always about getting back on track after a weekend of not-so-on-track-overly-indulgent-fun-days. Did you follow that?

The weekdays are full of routine for me between school and working two three jobs, if your count the time I put into this blog. Weekends tend to be a little bit more relaxed, which is wonderful and I wouldn’t change that ever. Except for the amount of desserts that I ate last night, I might change that!

Regardless, my weekend wrap up is as follows…

The most picturesque salad ever !

Friday’s dinner was so picturesque… and it tasted even BETTER than it looks!

It was really just a “throw everything you have in the fridge into one bowl” kind of salad… but it tasted unreal. I think I’m going to submit this recipe to Kris Carr’s recipe section (thank you Christine for telling me to look into her further… I did!) since I think that it meets the standards: Recipes must be vegan, low-glycemic, nutritious, simple, easy to follow and not too long …. (besides that little piece of cheese that I’ve got going on the side of the bowl… oops!)

The short of the recipe is…

Ingredients

  • Beet Root Leaves
  • Purple Kale
  • Tomato
  • Avocado
  • Pine Nuts
  • Green Onion
  • Cilantro
  • Beets
  • Salad Dressing: Olive Oil, Balsamic, Mustard, Turmeric, Garlic, Ginger, Pepper, Cumin

And I don’t think I need to explain anything about it… since, I think everyone knows how to throw together a salad!

just wonderful!

Following this salad was working at CYKL, then this…

fun night out in Toronto

The Toronto Wine and Food Expo was in town this weekend also. Last year, we went to the one in London and had a blast – so this year in Toronto was quite the treat! Lots more wine and food vendors, and LOTS more people. It was packed! We managed to try a hefty amount of 1 oz. wine samples, making sure to squeeze in some food to help with the alcohol absorption. My favourite food booth was this one of course… (no surprise here)

I miss Switzerland…. and their cheeses!

The Raclette that we got at this booth was amazing, it brought back great memories! Plus, Dave got a free hat from a nice Swiss lady.

Here’s more highlights from the Toronto Food and Wine Show…

FOOD

pulled pork slider, YUM
gotta add in some chocolate!

I’ll admit, I did buy one of these chocolate bars. I think that mine is 70% Cocoa – the sample got me hooked! I liked the company, so I figured I would support them. If you’re going to eat chocolate, it might as well be somewhat healthy right!

WINE + BEER

Let’s be honest though, the real fun came from the people that I was with 🙂

Myself, Dave, Mel

All this indulgence followed by an extra tasty breakfast at “Oh What a Bagel”. Dave and I wanted breakfast at 2pm after I finished work, and we found it here !

I ordered a veggie + egg bagel – on whole wheat. It was really, reallllly good. Mainly because I didn’t have to make it myself!

I just managed to squeeze a lot in this weekend even though I worked every day, but now I’m feeling the exhaustion kick in.

Time to work out and rest before I head back to class – I’ll return soon!

Leave a Reply

