drive-thrus are for lazy people.

Living my healthiest and most holistic life, without a drive-thru !

woke up this morning, thinking about SWEETS

Leave a comment

… so naturally, I made something to satisfy that sweet tooth.

No sense depriving yourself, or waiting until after dinner right?

My favourite new cook-book which my sister and I bought for my mom for Mother’s Day, is Tosca Reno’s Eat-Clean Diet Vegetarian Cook Book.

I’ve made quite a few recipes from this book already – which takes a more “whole-foods” approach to eating well. But this is the first dessert that I tried out.

Here’s the recipe for Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Backpack Kisses!!! (This is right out of the cookbook itself)

Ingredients

• ½ cup / 120 ml old-fashioned rolled oats
• ¼ cup / 60 ml vegan unsweetened protein powder, as natural as possible
• 2 Tbsp / 30 ml hulled hemp seeds
• 2 Tbsp / 30 ml flaxseed, cracked
• ¼ cup / 60 ml unsweetened dried cranberries
• ¼ cup / 60 ml vegan semisweet natural chocolate chips
• Pinch sea salt
• 1 cup / 240 ml all-natural peanut butter, sugar and salt free
• 2 Tbsp / 30 ml brown-rice syrup, yacon syrup or pure honey

Preparation

  1. In a large bowl, mix together oats, protein powder, hemp seeds, flaxseed, dried cranberries, chocolate chips and sea salt. Add peanut butter and syrup or honey and mix together. Using your hands, knead mixture together thoroughly. Drop by rounded teaspoonful onto a baking sheet, or use a mini ice-cream scoop. Using your hands, roll into balls. Wrap kisses in squares of aluminum foil, twisting tops to seal, or store them unwrapped in an airtight container.

Tosca’s Tip

Store in the fridge for up to two weeks, or in the freezer for up to one month. [Eat Clean Diet Vegetarian Cookbook]

Here is a photo, again – this was not taken by me but used straight from her website.


Mine turned out looking ALMOST as good. You can never quite make them look like the professional pictures though – why is that?! I ended up halving the recipe just for starters, and boy am I glad that I did! Mostly because I realized after making these that the flaxseed that we had was rotten, or something. I don’t even know whether flax can go bad, but this one must have been. It had a terrible AWFUL smell and now the backpack kisses only taste like burnt flax.

Oh well, that’s why we try recipes like this out before taking them to parties right! Glad I didn’t offer this batch to friends – I would have seen a lot of unhappy faces.

If you try these – leave me a comment! You can switch up the ingredients no problem too. I subbed in 1/2 a cup of almond butter instead of a whole cup of peanut butter. You could also add some other healthy seeds or roll them in coconut if you got adventurous!

Have you made any delicious treats lately?

What’s your favourite summer snack?

Leave a Reply

