drive-thrus are for lazy people.

Living my healthiest and most holistic life, without a drive-thru !

Do you have those “White Spots” on your fingernails?

Leave a comment

Hi!

TGIF – Right? It’s been a long week, and I’m ready for the weekend ahead – even though I have very few plans (besides study/relax/drink red wine/and work).

Look down at your hand, okay – Now look at your finger nails... Any white spots?

blog 004

Ya, like those ones ! That’s my finger(s)…

blog 003

These white spots just started appearing ever since I’ve moved to Toronto (living on my own/cooking for myself now) – and have since gotten worse over the past few months.

Luckily, I now know what the issue is…

These white spots on fingernails often are a signal of LOW CALCIUM and LOW ZINC. My diet has certainly been changing rapidly over the past couple of years, so this makes complete sense that ever since I’ve been cooking for myself again (primarily vegetarian diet now – and maybe lacking variety of foods on occasion unlike when I was eating my Mom’s wonderful meals) that these have appeared.

Calcium, I think I get enough of through my dark green leafy vegetables (I eat lots of kale on a weekly basis) as well as dairy intake – But I certainly think I could have a deficiency of Zinc.

In my Encyclopedia of Nutritional Supplements by Michael Murray, he says the following…

“Marginal Zinc deficiency may be reflected by an increased susceptibility to poor wound healing… minor skin disorders including acne, eczema, and psoriasis… White spots on fingernails may reflect Zinc status…”

As a first step, I went to the grocery store straight away to buy a food that I know is extremely high in Zinc. That food is…

blog 005

blog 006

PUMPKIN SEEDS!

They are one of the most ‘common’ foods containing high amounts of Zinc (second to Fresh Oysters.. but I’m not going to go fish for those!) Pumpkin Seeds contain 7.5 milligrams of Zinc per 100g serving – and you should be having about 15-20mg per day if you’re not deficient, or about 30-75 mg per day if you do have a deficiency.

Other foods high in Zinc are Ginger Root, Brazil Nuts, Whole Wheat and Oats.

Let’s hope that in 6 weeks, my white spots are gone. It’s nice of my body to give me such external warning signs before something goes terribly wrong elsewhere =-)

I’ll report back when/if things change while I become more mindful of my Zinc intake….

Leave a Reply

